top of page

Looking For New Board Members

Seeking Community Builders Final.jpg

Join the Hillsdale Community Foundation

The Hillsdale Community Foundation needs new board members. We are a group of volunteers dedicated to building strong community in Hillsdale by organizing and promoting events that bring people together. We have brought you the annual Book Sale. We’ve partnered with Hillsdale Food Park and built the Josh Kadish Community Stage to provide you with free live music. For your kids, we have had an annual Easter Egg Hunt. When this pandemic is over and it is safe to do so we want to bring all this back and more. We welcome your energy to help make this happen and we welcome your fresh ideas for new events that will make Hillsdale even friendlier.


Though the pandemic has kept us from our main mission, we have not been idle. We shifted our efforts to supporting campaigns to help alleviate the economic struggles our neighbors are enduring because of the pandemic. Our recent “Stand Up Hillsdale” campaign raised over $30,000 for Neighborhood House. We are serving as fiscal sponsor for the community programs at the Hillsdale Farmer’s Market. We gather volunteers to pick up litter and tend plantings in the town center. We want Hillsdale to weather this pandemic with all our people and institutions intact and welcoming. We can use your ideas and compassion. Together we create an accessible, inclusive and beautiful community for everyone.


Anyone interested in building community in Hillsdale is welcome to apply to be on our board. We strive to have our board reflect all aspects of our community because we understand the richness and depth diversity brings to our community. We value ideas from adults of all ages and socioeconomic groups, from the BIMPOC and LGBTQ communities, from people whose focus is on children, and from people of different religious beliefs. If you are part of any underrepresented community we would particularly welcome you. Join us with your ideas and passion for Hillsdale. We look forward to working alongside you to bring those ideas to life.


If you'd like to talk to us, email:

Board of Directors

Foundation board members are chosen by the board from the community and anyone may apply to be on the board. Terms of service are for three years and, with board approval, can be extended for one more three-year term. By-laws call for a board of no less than nine members. Full terms begin and end in January.

By-laws and member responsibilities can be found below.

2018 - 2024

Amy Houchen, Chair

2020 - 2023

Spencer French

Dave Hawkins, Vice Chair

Dick Hausken, Treasurer

2021 - 2024

Jennifer Bonas


2022 - 2025

Jessica Kaplan

Leila Ortega


Emeritus Members

Mike Roach

Rick Seifert

Michael Reunert

Anne Prescott

Robin Jensen

Eamon Malloy

Board Member


bottom of page